Award Shows

Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE awards shows. I will watch them like they are going out of style. I will live tweet the whole thing from the outfits to the hilarious bits to the bizarre speeches. But I sort of hate them. I hate how people take these awards shows as what is acceptable to watch, what is okay to admit to liking, and what is considered “good” art. I’m sorry, but what? Since when is liking any show unacceptable? I don’t care if you admit to liking Duck Dynasty, Jersey Shore, or South Park. I might make fun of you from time to time for them, but I don’t actually think you’re less than me or anyone else who doesn’t watch them. I love shows that critics have panned. I love shows that were cancelled almost immediately. I don’t care what critics claim are the “best”. I mean case in point, Kerry Washington loses best actress to Claire Danes. Why? Because Claire Danes is a movie actress. So is Kerry Washington, mind you, but Claire Danes is also more well known and critics love her show. Do they love Scandal? Nope. So Washington loses. And yet people still claim things like, “Well “Homeland” must be better since Claire Danes won.” Seriously? You’re going to take the advice of a bunch of old dudes sitting around voting for shows they probably never even watched. Sorry, but nope.

Give me primetime soaps like Grey’s Anatomy, One Tree Hill, The OC, and hilarious sitcoms like How I Met Your Mother, Scrubs, That 70’s Show, Friends, The Big Bang Theory, The Office, Arrested Development, and Parks and Recreation.

Give me terrible reality shows like Big Brother and The Voice over these so called “best” shows that are boring and star big names so they apparently “deserve” an award over a show like One Tree Hill.

Don’t judge television or movies based on critics. Half the time they are only judging something based on a set of “rules” that doesn’t actually mesh at all with the general public. In fact, the majority of the blockbusters in the history of film and television were panned by critics. Why? Because Critics don’t actually care about what the real person likes, they care about what their peers like. Hollywood is not America, just a bunch of old dudes following a set of rules that are archaic and honestly are worth less than a bag of rocks.

Leave a Reply

